Healthy Ways to Combat Boredom

I went to my psychologist a few days ago and we went over things I can do when I feel like eating.  I am an emotional eater and I do eat when I get bored.  I thought I would share some of the healthy alternatives that my therapist helped me come up with.  The alternatives are coping mechanisms that I enjoy.  Your coping mechanisms may be very different!

Journal– I bought a journal several weeks ago to use when I feel like eating.  It does help as long as I use it!

Yoga– Yoga has done wonders for my stress management.  It makes me feel at peace.  I actually get what I call a “yoga high” from it.  Similar to a “runners high”.

Hot tea– Tea is a great alternative to over indulging.  My therapist suggested I drink caffeine-free tea because I have trouble sleeping.  Tea also has the same effects in the brain as eating.

Blogging– I like to research before I blog.  Blogging definitely keeps my mind busy and off of food.

Watch a documentary– I really enjoy watching documentaries on just about any subject.  It is great for occupying my mind.

Music

Hot bath/shower

Remember, it does get better!

-More than Mental

Leave a Reply

