New Workload, School and Sleep

I have mentioned before that I am self-employed.  I care for seniors in the comfort of their own homes.  A week ago I only had one client.  I worked three days a week.  Now I have two clients and am working six days a week, sometimes both clients on Saturday, and still going to school!  This is a lot for anyone but especially for someone who has bipolar disorder where sleep is extremely important.

I have been perpetually tired since beginning this new client.  I am hoping that I will get used to the extra workload.  If I don’t, then I will have to quit for my health’s sake.  I am working 5-6 hours a day (except Saturdays which could be 12 hours), for a total of six days a week.  I am taking one class at a time at my local college, I am married, I have two kids and two cats.

Regardless of what needs to be done, I am very strict with my sleep schedule.  I go down hill extremely fast with lack of sleep or interrupted sleep.  My OCD  symptoms come back in full force.  It’s scary.

I am making sure that I get at least eight hours of sleep a night.  Even if I haven’t completed an assignment all the way or the house is messy, I go to sleep.  I take my medications exactly as prescribed.  I am squeezing in time to see my psychologist as well.  She is like my second brain; she helps me think through and understand what may be going on in my life.

Always take good care of yourself and try to take your medications as prescribed.  I know a lot of people don’t like to take their medications.  I would not be able to do what I am doing if it weren’t for the medications my doctor prescribes.

Remember, it does get better!

-More than Mentaltime-management

Leave a Reply

