As good as it gets.

Having mental illness is difficult.  I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder about 12 years ago.  I have been on a lot of different medication combinations in those past 12 years.

It has never seemed like I was on the correct combination.  I have always cycled no matter what I’ve been on.  It took a very long time for me to realize that no matter what I take, I will always cycle.

According to my psychiatrist, medications for bipolar disorder don’t take away the symptoms; the meds just lessen the symptoms.

I don’t like this truth.  I hate cycling.  However, I know I can’t do anything about the medication aspect.  I can only work on myself to be the healthiest I can.

I see my psychiatrist and psychologist regularly.  I eat a somewhat healthy diet and exercise when my mood allows.  I don’t smoke, do drugs or drink alcohol.  I get plenty of sleep.

It’s a lot of work and not fun trying to keep myself mentally healthy but it has to be done.  

Don’t expect medications to be a cure-all.  I think of them as a crutch.  You can do well but you will have to put in the work, which is not always easy.  Do what you can when you can.

Remember, it does get better.

More than Mental

2 thoughts on “As good as it gets.

  1. I am at the stage where the medicine effects have plateaued and I am realizing more and more that the rest is on me. It’s going to be a struggle to build that strength for sure.. Glad you seem to being handling it well for the most part! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

